WHEN I THINK OF THE PROBLEMS OF THE WORLD, THE SECOND THING THAT COMES TO MY MIND ARE BULLIES

Raluca Handoca

large

Yes, I believe that one of the biggest problems in the world are bullies and how their bullying affects the victims on long term. This happens mostly to children when if one hears the same thing over and over again it is most likely that it will stick to that person, regardless if the bully states the obvious or not.

I have been bullied in my life and my bullies stopped hurting me when I learned that there are people in the world who like me for my personality not for the way I look. Not being a size 0 used to be the thing that I hated the most about me. I considered provoking my own body to puke the food that I ate until I saw a movie and I realized that bulimia is a serious eating disorder and it cannot be my last resort. Shortly after I learned to stop taking so serious what my bullies said. I had one bully in particular that was so insecure with herself that she found comfort in bullying me. Now that I think about her and her action I can see how in fact she was the one suffering much more than me. Her parents were away, she was overweight and she had her bullies so she had to take care of herself.

According to Carol Westby there are 2 categories of bullies: people that lack in social skills and cold manipulative individuals who lead gangs to achieve personal goals. When we are talking about children, it is not much of their fault for bullying but their parents and teachers that do nothing to stop it. I believe that children must be taught from an early age that no one is suited to critique someone else’s looks or different beliefs or opinions. What I find disturbing is that for some people the bullying never stops. Adults that do not know better than making a person feel bad about something that is not in his or her power to change is a huge problem.

The worst thing about bullying is that it might ends with a suicide. The vast majority of young people who are bullied do not become suicidal. Research indicates that persistent bullying can lead to or worsen feelings of isolation, rejection, exclusion, and despair, as well as depression and anxiety, which can contribute to suicidal behavior. According to the American Center of Disease Control and Prevention, young people that are both victims of bullying and bully other people present the highest suicidal group.

As for a solution, I believe that even teaching a child to think twice before they say something about someone else can help. From my personal experience with bullying I have learned that I have to put myself first and keep doing what makes me be the best version of myself. The truth is that I had people in my life that gave me love and support throughout the entire so called healing process. If we want to have a better world we cannot mess up with other people’s mental health. These people might be some of the brightest minds that there are and find cures for incurable diseases but if they are bullied about being gay or have pimples they might never reach their full potential.

 

Leave a Reply

