How globalization affects my daily life

corporate-earth2
First thing that comes in to my mind is a statement against racism,,Your car is Japanese. Your beer is German. Your wine is Spanish. Your democracy is Greek. Your coffee is Colombian. Your tea is Chinese. Your watch is Swiss. Your fashion is French. Your shirt is Indian. Your shoes are Thai. Your radio is Korean. Your vodka is Russian. And then you complain that your neighbor is an immigrant?”. When I think about globalization I think first of all about the benefits I have and all the things I can learn and use. I think also about the technology that helps me connect with friends around the world even if I don’t see them for years. It makes it easy to understand others culture and to have access to things that maybe 50 years a go would have cost me a fortune to obtain. The scariest or saddest thing I would fear losing because of globalization would be the traditions and cultural rituals which I think would be such a pity since it is an identity mark of the place you were born and race. This fact still doesn’t bother me a lot since I think that during the human history we have lost and reinvent traditions and mixed myths in a natural way of adapting to change. Ironically we don’t have a clear definition about what globalization but the whole process itself I think is exactly about knowing and understanding things as a whole system. I think that this concept may have been born by a desire for a uniform power which would fight for human right as well as survival. It may well be an instinct that was hidden deep inside human and it is in our nature to awaken this when threaten by outside disasters for example. I think that the problems at the structural level can be fixed by a transparent government which wants to have a better communication with its citizens. A second solution to the negatives effects of globalization I would see a new generation of diplomats who can use better the age of technology and information as an advantage to change and spread better messages between countries in order to reach strong relations from which we all would benefit. In the end I may have too optimistic view of the future and the way things are, but I think if we would work in order to find the best solution we have already enough tools that can help us achieve almost anything.
Ungureanu Theona 3’rd year Journalism
References photos:
http://collettivomachete.altervista.org/limperialismo-e-la-concentrazione-di-capitale-oggi/?doing_wp_cron=1462534242.0882620811462402343750

Leave a Reply

